Thursday, February 15, 2007

Enemies of the Internet

Ever heard of "Enemies of the Internet"?

Its refer to the countries that suppressing the freedom of expression over the Internet (also known as web censorship) especially blogging. For example,
  • being prevented from posting news online or writing a blog.
  • censor and block online content.
  • arrest and detain bloggers.
13 countries has been listed as the enemies of the Internet:
  • Belarus
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Myanmar
  • North Korea
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria
  • Tunisia,
  • Turkmenistan,
  • Uzbekistan and
  • Vietnam.
Worldwide, 61 people, 52 in China, are in prison for posting what the countries claimed was "subversive" content.

This news come from 2 sources namely BBC News Technology - 'Enemies of the internet' named and Yahoo!News Tech -13 nations denounced for Web censorship. (Nov 8)

No comments: